Men are told that the women in glossy magazines
Lose their appeal when you think
“That is someone’s daughter.”
But when the photos and videos are on
The Nightly News
When instead of makeup they wear dust
and dried blood
When the lighting is from fires
Instead of flash diffusers
And the videos show faces
Captured in perfect stillness
Stillness that doesn’t make any sense
For a boy
A boy like my boy.

I have a boy that age
He cannot be that still.

When the background is devastated
Instead of devastating
The idea, the thought that
“This is someone’s child”
Stops my heart.

Only it doesn’t stop.
Not really.
My sons will wake up tomorrow
And they will play their imaginary games.
But the still faces
The too still faces
Will not.
And tomorrow night I’ll turn on
The Nightly News
And see what new pictures
And videos are available.

