A gaunt figure in voluminous robes
Passed me by on his way to pick up
My friend.
On his way past me, Mr gaunt
Took a layer of his robes and
Wrapped
It around me.
The robe was so heavy I couldn’t
Stand
Or speak
Or even breathe.
It pulled my shoulders level with my ankles.
Then it rained.
I was drowned in the sudden deluge
And I thought
“please let this robe wash away with the water. Let this be the worst and the end of it.”
But the rain stopped and
The water receded
Chasing after Mr gaunt
Yet His robe
Remained.
It was days
Or weeks
Or maybe years later
When I learned to stand under the weight of Mr gaunts robe.
I could stand.
I could breathe
I could speak.
I could walk.
So I did.
Under the weight of Mr gaunts robe of course.
Now I understand
I will never shed the robe
Until I return it
To a gaunt figure in voluminous robes
Passing my friends by on his way to pick me up

