Scripture: If you continue in my word, you really are my disciples.  You will know the truth and the truth will set you free. ~John 8:31-32

Theological Thought: The freedom Jesus speaks about here  is freedom from the burden of law so as to live in grace.  All of John Chapter 8 is building up to this point by pitting Law against Grace, first with the Adulteress, then by discussing how the Pharisees judge Jesus, and finally with Jesus proclaiming his eventual ascension.  The truth, of which Jesus speaks in John 8, is the truth of Grace which can be found in Christ Jesus.

Reflection: I have a difficult time talking about Freedom with Americans.  Very often, when American’s talk about freedom it is in the context of leaving behind that which held them back.  Maybe it was some sin, maybe it was a false belief, maybe it is even the government… or a platypus (because that happens right?).  But freedom is always about “freedom from.”  Too often the joy of being “free from” or the fear of NOT being “free from” is where life begins and ends.  It is easy to forget that freedom does not exist for its own sake nor do we seek it for its own sake, (at least I don’t) but that I enjoy freedom so that I can live and live well in the light of Glorious God.  Yes, I am free from sin, and free from the law, but only so that I might be free to seek justice, love mercy, and walk humbly with my God. (Micah 6:8)

Prayer: Refocus my life on you Lord.  Focus me on you and your goodness so that I do not fall back into the imprisonment from which you have released me.

Practice: Service can take on many forms from being more helpful around the house, to volunteering at a homeless shelter.  Service also allows us to freely submit to the needs of others and to understand our freedom, not for ourselves, but for others and for the greater glory of God.

