gk_chariotNow this I know:
The Lord gives victory to his anointed.
He answers him from his heavenly sanctuary
with the victorious power of his right hand.
Some trust in chariots and some in horses,
but we trust in the name of the Lord our God.
They are brought to their knees and fall,
but we rise up and stand firm.
Lord, give victory to the king!
Answer us when we call!
~Psalm 20:6-9


20:7 is one of my favorite verses in all the psalms.  That some might trust in horses and chariots but I will
trust in the Lord.  The Lord who answers me when I call.  The Lord who visits calamity on the wicked.  The Lord to whom the battle belongs!  This is the Lord we trust in!  he sets up our banners and guides us to victory.  We shout for joy for the Lord not only hears our prayers but he ANSWERS!  Of course we will trust in the name of the Lord.  How can horses, cahriots, armies, companies, government, money, wall street or even our earthly friends compare to the God of the Universe?  How can we say “I will trust my friends to make me happy” and forget to call on the name of the Lord?

How can we say that we are proud of this accomplishment or of that person, how can we say we take pride in this award or that achievement and yet fail to find pride in the Name of the Lord?

 

