Ever heard someone say ‘I’m in a dark place right now’?  If you haven’t heard it before you have now. “The Dark Place” is where we go when we get depressed, discouraged and generally have problems facing the world. Its the private dark little corner of our hearts where we can ignore the world around us. For myself its a place where i can cry without shame. The world cant see me in the dark place and i can’t see me so there’s no shame in letting my heart grieve.
Now a lot of people say that the dark place is unhealthy. That going there is equivalent to not trusting God or that it is somehow as if im running away from him. Never mind that there is no shadow so dark that the light of God cannot shine, and nevermind that there is no place deep enough where God cannot reach me (cf romans 8:38-39 and psalm 139:11-12). The truth is that when i go to a dark place, when i need to hide from the world and allow myself to hurt, i go to the deep shadows of the dark place: the shadows of HIS wings.

Have mercy on me, O God,
have mercy on me, for in you my soul takes refuge.
I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings until the disaster has passed.
I cry out to God Most High,
to God, who fulfills {his purpose} for me.

Psalms 57:1-2 NIV84

