The first time that God calls himself by name, he proclaims ehyeh asher ehyeh.  I am that I am.  Now there are a lot of very well written commentaries on what exactly this means, (here’s one example) but there’s a concept behind the BEING of God included in the name which isn’t to be missed, misunderstood, or ignored:

That God declared himself as BEING as a key characteristic of his name to Moses suggests that the definition of creation is dependent on presence of God’s being.

Think about that for a moment and let me rephrase it a bit.  God’s being gives definition to the world around him.

His being gives definition to the rocks, and the sea, and the sky, and to me.  His activity does not give me definition, his promises do not give me definition, and my activity certainly does not give me definition although it might help other people figure me out.  The presence of God gives definition to the world and it is in His presence where I find my own definition.

Now I’m not entirely sure what that means on a practical level or even how it will really impact this journey I’m on of discovering who I am in Christ.  But I do know that I can dig in and seek His face to better discover what it all means.

