Whenever I think of Superman, whenever I think of Clark Kent, I usually don’t spend too much time thinking about how awesome a super hero he is.  To be honest I’m not much of a fan of Superman so I don’t spend all that much time thinking about him in the first place.  But when I do think about him, it is usually because I’m sitting in my little cubicle on Monday morning, after an awesome weekend and I’m asking the same question that Jon Acuff does in his book Quitter.

“How does Superman do it? How does he go from Superman saving the world, to underappreciated Clark Kent at the Daily Planet? How do you go from Super to so-so?”

Now I’m not hitting it like Señor Acuff was when he asked the question.  I’m just having so much fun with ministry stuff, and I’m so excited about what God’s doing in my life right now, that Monday through Friday between 8am and 5pm seem like a parallel universe.  I feel like I’ve just spent all this time and energy as Superman, but now I have to take off the cape and put on the glasses (because that’s such a great disguise).  Now I could comfort myself and say that my job is sponsoring/funding my ministry – which it is.

I could say that.  But that doesn’t really help.

So it occurs to me, really occurs to me, that Clark Kent is a reporter for a major, I mean MAJOR newspaper in a very big city.  That’s like saying you are a staff writer for the Wall Street Journal or the New York Times.  This is not a small thing.  Seriously – I know Journalism majors, Clark Kent’s day job is their Dream job!  It only looks lame compared to being Superman.

Compared to the dream, compared to the adrenaline , compared to the sheer awesomeness of Superman, just about anything is lame.  My own little Daily Planet?  People would kill for this cubicle and if I stopped for a moment to think about it, I would remember that I actually like my work.  It’s not saving the world, but I’m still having a blast.

