Some youth pastors I know get questions from their youth like “can I go on missions?” “Why does God love me?” “How can I better serve God?” My youth group skipped right past those questions and went straight to crazy questions like “Can we Sin in Heaven? If we do, do we get kicked out?” “What’s the trinity EXACTLY?” “If God is all knowing and exists outside of time, is it possible that he KNEW Adam and Eve would fall? Does that mean God created evil?” I mean seriously? A thirteen year old kid is asking me if God is the author of evil?!?! But at least all of these I had considered, thought about or read about, this is reasonably standard systematic theology type material.

Then one of the kids asked me “is polygamy sin?”

Go ahead. I dare you. Just TRY to answer that one, because the only thing I could say was “I don’t know, let me look some things up and I’ll get back to you.”

I was this close to starting a fast to try and figure it out (which tells you just how desperate I was about it) when the answered came to me in one of those flashes of insight that can only come from the Holy Spirit.

Regardless of our sin, it is superseded by Grace.

In other words: stop focusing on the problem and focus on the solution. Now I understand why so many people out there are busy arguing about the topic but I’m not going to sit here and pretend like I have THE answer. All I know is that Love covers a multitude of sin, that Grace is given for all who believe, and that Christ stands in the gap for us bridging the distance between us and the father.

My sin is superseded by Grace.

Good news: so is yours.

