I am listening to Jim Collin’s book Good to Great on cd and there are a couple of things that have really stood out to me (and I’m only on chapter 3).

Correction: there are TWO things that have really stood out to me that I’m going to share with you, and I honestly believe that there are significant spiritual implications for both of these.  Today I’m only going to talk about one of them, and I’ll probably hit on the other tomorrow or Thursday so stay tuned!  But for now Item number 1.

Good is the enemy of Great. 

Mr. Collins uses this phrase to describe why we have good schools, or good government, and an overwhelming plethora of “good enough” inspired mediocrity.  We need to remember that Christ came to give us life and life abundant, not life in a good suburban neighborhood with good schools and an ok job.   He doesn’t want us to have a reasonably good spiritual life he wants us to shine so bright that we cannot help but be noticed.   Examples.

  • Peter asks Jesus, “How many times should I forgive my brother? Seven times?”   Seven times is good, but it is not great.  “Seven times seventy times” Jesus answers.
  • 1 Corinthians 9:24 “Don’t you know that the runners in a stadium all race, but only one receives the prize? Run the race in such a way to win the prize.”  (trans: don’t settle for second place – be excellent.  Be great)
  • (and my personal favorite) Luke 19:46 “My Father’s house should be a house of prayer! But you have made it a den of thieves!” (trans – this worship just isn’t good enough)

To take another extra biblical example to illustrate the point, allow me to quote Orlando Bloom in Kingdom of Heaven “It is a kingdom of conscience or not at all.” He states boldly that compromising his ethics and his morality is the ground upon which something great, the Kingdom of Jerusalem, becomes something mediocre: a fallen city.

I propose that the Kingdom of God is very much the same.  That there are plenty of good things that could be and will be utilized for the sake of the kingdom, but at the same time, we are all called to greatness.  I mean think about it – does it get any greater than the Kingdom of Heaven?  Are we as Christians, loyal and loving followers of the Father, willing to stand before him with something good when we are capable of bringing something GREAT?

