Remember mad libs?  You’d have this page with a list of word types – noun, adjective, verb, transitive verb, prepositional phrase, past perfect non-transitive preposition…. Ok maybe not the last one.  But you’d come up with this list turn the page and then insert your word choices in order in the blanks specified and then get some ridiculous story that almost always left people rolling on the floor in fits of painful laughter.

Example

Three blueish mice. See how they run!
They all ran after the farmer’s accountant,
Who cut off their ipads with a carving cellphone.
Did you ever see such a sight in your life as three blueish mice?
There was a crooked man, and he went a/an enormous mile.
He found a/an week against a/an weighty stile.
He bought a/an classic cat, which caught a/an neo-classical mouse,
and they all lived together in a little crooked neon.
healthy Jack Horner sat in the corner, eating his orange pie.
He stuck in his nose and pulled out a/an nail,
And said, “What a good screwdriver am I!”
Old King Cole was a/an harsh old soul,
A/An orange old soul was he.
He called for his bannana, and he called for his photoshop,
And he called for his cameras three.

Question: If we played madlibs with the bible, like 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 and replaced the word “love” with your name, would it be accurate?  I mean I know people have said “replace Love with JEsus and you get a picture of Jesus.”  Well if we’re supposed to be Christ like right? So can we replace our names in there?

Answer:  Cards on the table, I did this and got an epic fail.  I mean EPIC fail. If Ben Hur was the star of Lord of the Rings recast against the backdrop of an evil galactic empire it would not come close to the epicness of my fail here.  But I can honestly say that I am trying, and I am getting better… according to my wife at least and I think that counts for a lot.

So what next?  I now have seen a glimpse of what the ideal me looks like.  “Sage is patient, Sage is kind.  He does not envy, he does not boast.”  So I got something to work towards.  It isn’t the complete picture, and I probably won’t get there for a good long while, but that doesn’t mean I can’t do better.

