Some people say that any journey whether it is from here to Rome or from my desk to the coffee pot consists of three parts: the starting place, the ending place, and the space in between. Essentially, the beginning, middle, and end.

I disagree. You see that middle part, the part that is so casually tossed aside as “the journey” or “the space between” is actually far more than a single piece. Take Paul’s journey to Rome for example. Now you’re thinking that I’m going to talk about Paul being shipwrecked as an important part of that journey, but in his letter to the Romans Paul says that he has been eager to visit them, but until that point unable to. Many Scholars tend to equate this with events that occur in the early part of Acts Chapter 20 – SEVEN CHAPTERS before Paul begins his journey to arrive in Rome. And that he has been eager to visit them means that he was interested in going to Rome, before Chapter 20.

And in the midst of that, Paul learned something very valuable about the journey for which I am grateful.

If the foot should say, “because I am not a hand, I don’t belong in the body.”  In spite of this it still belongs to the body.  And if the ear should say “because I am not an eye, I don’t belong to the body,”
in spite of this it still belongs to the body.  If the whole body were an eye, where would the hearing be? And if the whole body an ear where would the sense of smell be?  But now God has placed each one of the parts in one body just as he wanted.” 1 cor 12:15-18

Hear me, the Journey I am on, the journey to discover the manner of Man the Father wants me to be, will begin and end with the body of Christ because ultimately, the man I am meant to be, is a part of that body no less vital than the eye, the ear, or the big toe.  And I dare you to say the same of yourself. (substituting man for woman as needed of course).

