OK I’ll admit it.  I read the entire Twilight saga.  Yep.  The ENTIRE thing.  All four books from Twilight to Breaking Dawn.  Not only did I read the entire thing, but I actually read it twice.  For all that I dislike the notion of the good vampire that sparkles in sunlight and has no earthly problems aside from metaphysical and philosophical ones (which the book presents as questions without answers) there is a compelling story behind it.  The story is kind of an odd mix between Shakespeare’s R&J and Buffy the Vampire Slayer with a touch of (insert title of chick flick here) but it is compelling all the same.   The arc of the story nears epic proportions that replaces the heroic Knight as the central character with the fragile maiden he leaves behind.

Epic story arc.

No Character Arc.

That’s my problem with the series.  I’m sorry, but I’d like to think that a love affair with a  vampire is kind of a life changing event that might make you look at the world a little different.  It’s the kind of thing that makes you grow and become something more, and yet, it’s almost as if the entire point of the series is to say “no, it’s ok.  You don’t have to grow or change, because somewhere is a man who will love you just the way you are.”  I disagree with that on principle.  Real love suffers to see the one loved sit in contentment with what is less than the best.

Does Bella, the main character of the series change?  Sure she becomes a vampire (sorry if I spoiled it for you), but does she change?  As far as I can tell the answer is no and aside from injecting her with his magical vampire venom, Edward doesn’t do much to encourage her to change.

As far as I’m concerned that makes the entire premise of the series, that Edward and Bella are destined to be together, a lie.  I don’t know, maybe vampires aren’t supposed to grow in which case the story becomes kinda boring, but I spent two trips through this book looking for Bella to grow because I understand love based on the Love the Father has for me.

That kind of love is big enough to accept us where we are, accepts the worst we have to offer, hates the pain we hold onto and demands better than we can give.  Not for His sake are we called to be better but for our own.   “For the Lord rebukes those he loves.”

