20111206-122351.jpg I have officially finished my sabbatical from writing. As far as sabbaticals go it wasn’t too bad. I took about 11 weeks out of the customary 12-16. It was a much needed break for me and gave me some breathing room. I discovered a great saying: “if the devil can’t make you bad, he’ll make you busy.”

Which in turn made me figure out some obvious answers to questions I was refusing to ask myself. I was refusing to ask because I was too busy. Now in my defense I was busy with stuff that was good to be busy with. I was busy with a wife and a new son. I was busy with new and growing ministry opportunities, and I was busy writing. I don’t know if I was writing to prove something to myself, to grow an audience or because I couldn’t help but write, but I was VERY busy doing it.

The main question I was faced with as I went on my introspective journey was painfully obvious and it was one that I had very diligently ignored. “Am I working to become the man God has called me to be?”
The sad answer was “no.” I’d spent a lot of time doing a lot and spent very little time on developing myself and growing myself. I had spent very little effort in seeking the Lord and allowing him to grow and groom me. In Hebrews, the author offers a rebuke against those who have become complacent and lazy.

“Although by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you the basic principles of God’s revelation again. You need milk, not solid food.” (Heb 5:12)

So going forward, I hope to share more about my journey growing, and less about the deep and mysterious things I think about when I can’t sleep at night… as fascinating as those can be. Because the simple truth is, that the most valuable thing I now have to offer, is my own story of how God turned me from just another boy in a man’s shoes, to a man, a real servant of God.

At least I hope that’s where I end up.

