In the Old Testament, I forget where exactly – probably the latter half of Leviticus – there is provision for taking time off and letting fields lie fallow.  Every seven years is a year of rest and refreshing and every seventh instance of this (so every 49 years) is the year of jubilee, which is what Christ proclaimed when he said “I come to proclaim the favorable year of the LORD.”

The little versions though, the sort of min-jubilees, are sabbaticals.  And I find that in this season in my life I am in need of one.

Writing has become too much of a chore and does not represent the singular joy of studying and meditating on the word that it once did, so much so that I find myself rebelling at the thought of any kind of writing at all.  A friend e-mailed me the other day asking to get together for lunch and rather than responding via the same medium, I decided to call instead.  I simply could not bear to think of writing any more than was absolutely necessary.

I expect to spend a great deal of time in reflection and really honing in on what it is that God is calling me to do, not just with this blog, but in greater circumstances.  For too long this blog has been the sole outlet of any kind of ministry, rather than a supplement something greater, and I need to walk with Jesus for a while figuring out what that something greater looks like.

Your prayers are, as always, deeply welcome and if you aren’t signed up to receive e-mail notifications of my posts, I encourage you to do so.  I’ll be posting sporadically over the next period of time and don’t want you wasting your time coming back to see if anything new has happened.

Blessings!

Seiji

SDG

