Think about the last time you had a bad day.  Now think about how you responded to that day.  Did you count it pure joy and sing the Lord’s praises all day long?  Or are you like me and you grumbled and complained and felt generally nasty.  If you’re really like me then you spent the entire time trying not to yell at people who did nothing at all to deserve it.

If you’re anything like me then one bad thing you can handle, and two is bearable but it doesn’t take long before it becomes too much and I’m just sitting there stewing in this mess of stress and turmoil begging for an outlet.

The new man tells me to stop and pray.  “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God ”  “Come those who are weary and heavy laden for my yoke is light.”  “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.”

But the old man, the person I used to be has something to say about it too.  He reminds me of all the little tricks I used to pull to deal with stress.  He reminds me about a life that I have left behind me and how easy it would be for just one good drink, or one little hit.  He reminds me that I know where to get what I need, and I know how good it’ll feel.

Somedays I can say to the old man “get behind me Satan.”  “Man does not live on bread alone.” “I am a new creation in Christ.”

Somedays I can’t.  Somedays I’m too worn out and tired to even realize I’m losing the fight.  I thank God for his Grace and Mercy on days like that.

The point is it’s hard to stay on track.  It isn’t always easy to cast our cares on the cross.  If it was easy to say “no” then it wouldn’t really be temptation you know?  But Thank God for Grace.

