I’ve come to the conclusion that the quickest way to get depressed is to wallow in the self.  If I keep all my focus on myself, if I do nothing but stare and my own inner being scrutinizing every tiny little problem and then comparing it to a blessing or something good in there, I will eventually be swallowed up by darkness.  Because at the end of the day, the only thing that will come of that is me sitting there going “look at how horrible I am, I don’t deserve these good things.” And voila! I am depressed.

The cure – get over it.

Isaiah 60 “ARISE, shine, for your light has come and the glory of the Lord shines over you.”  IN other words, lift ur head up and stop staring at your belly button.  Navel gazing is awesome for all of the twenty seconds it takes to ask for prayer and then it’s time to move on.

The light of the LORD is already upon every single believer and He is calling us to lift our heads up and look around.  Because if you do you will get the chance to see something amazing: fields ripe for harvest. (Mt 9:35…ish if you’re interested)

When I’m feeling depressed I serve others; I work the fields for Christ.  And I feel better not because I am seeing people who are worse off than me and it makes me grateful, not because it gives me a sense of superiority, but because the whole mess has stopped being about me.  It was never about me in the first place.  It’s about Christ.  It’s about sharing his love with others.

It’s about giving Glory to God – to Him who able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think…to him be the glory.  And in that place, where I get to see God’s glory revealed, when I get to see His love for His children, how can I possibly be depressed?

