Yesterday I talked about the crucifixion.  Six hours later I felt like slamming my fist into the side of my head because I forgot to talk about the best, most exciting and awesome part of the crucifixion – the resurrection.

So Jesus goes through all his suffering and agony to atone for our sins (which I suppose could be argued if you have problems with substitution atonement theology but let’s not go there ok?) and the Father turns away so that he isn’t tempted to step in at the last minute and fix it all.  Jesus is buried and sits beside the father in Paradise for a time and I imagine that the first words out the Father’s mouth are “I’m sorry you had to live through that.”

Or perhaps not, again I’m filling in white space here.

And after three days the Father says, “just a bit more now. You ready for the really great part?”  And just like that Jesus is in the tomb and angels have rolled back the rock that blocked the entrance.  He is resurrected – the man he was is gone and in its place is a new a glorious SON.  He can appear and disappear in a way that inspires JK Rowling, he can preach better than ever, and he can do something even more amazing than all of that – he can teach others how to do everything he once did.

But he still bears the scars of his first life.

Not because he needs the reminder of what he left behind.  He doesn’t bear the scars so that others can pick at the scabs and make them hurt and bleed again.  He bears them as testimony to the healing that took place and to prove that this is not a doppelganger or simulacrum.  (oh I’m reading too much fantasy again)

In other words, He’s a new man, but that doesn’t mean he isn’t the same person who endured old trials.

“If I don’t see the mark of the nails in His hands, put my finger into the mark of the nails, and put my hand into His side, I will never believe!”… Then [Jesus] said to Thomas, “Put your finger here and observe My hands. Reach out your hand and put it into My side. Don’t be an unbeliever, but a believer.” John 20:25-27

