The Old Testament is filled with examples of the younger son, the disadvantaged son, pulling ahead and winning the day: Isaac and Ishmael, Jacob and Esau, Joseph and his eleven brothers.  It occurs to me today that the New Testament has the exact same story in it as well.

The Father loves me so much, that he sacrificed his other son for me.

And not just any other son, but his beloved son who knew his mind better than I ever will.  The perfect son who was perfectly obedient to the Father’s will.  The one in whom the Father delights.  The oldest.

We talk about what the cost of salvation was to Christ.  I certainly have talked about it although not on this particular blog.  I can talk about the passion, the suffering, the dedication and the necessity.  I can talk about how much Christ loves us that even if a single person was saved by his actions, just one, he’d still do it.

But I wonder now, what did it cost the father to hear his son cry out “my God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”  And what did it cost Him to turn his face away from that cry and let the pain continue?

I’m a father now, and I can only imagine what it cost him.  So don’t you dare say that the Father doesn’t love you.  Don’t say he isn’t or wasn’t there for you, and don’t say that he doesn’t care about you.

He sacrificed his other son for you.

