Malachi 3:10-11

 Bring the full tenth into the storehouse so that there may be food in My house. Test Me in this way,” says the Lord of Hosts. “See if I will not open the floodgates of heaven and pour out a blessing for you without measure. 11 I will rebuke the devourer for you, so that it will not ruin the produce of your land and your vine in your field will not fail to produce fruit,” says the Lord of Hosts.

Last week I had a baby, and my apartment lease ended as we prepared to move into a house of our own for the first time.  Until now, I have been tithing time, talent, effort, and everything I could give EXCEPT money.

Then realizing I wouldn’t be able to do that forever, I bit the bullet, blindly ignored the gaping hole in my budget, and began giving.

And I have been so blessed it blows me away.

I have a baby boy who is alive only by the Grace of God, who made sure that some great medical help was available when we needed it.

I have a home my child can grow up in thanks to the great friends and relationship God has blessed me with.

My friends at church are giving me such an outpouring of love and support I’m running out of ideas/ways they can help me.

Even the people at my workplace, from whom I expected no more than nominal help and appreciation have become a massive blessing to me in the most unexpected ways.

Today I am blessed beyond measure.  I have seen the floodgates of heaven open and I’m moderately ashamed that I felt the need to test God on this one.  Moderately ashamed that I didn’t really expect any blessing to come through.  Thankfully, now I know better.

