Leonard Bernstein conducting

I’ve come to the conclusion that I hate fasting like Leonard Bernstein hates music.  And for all you non-theater/musical nerds and geeks out there allow me to explain.  Leonard Bernstein was a famous composer, conductor and musician.  Most famously he wrote the music for West Side Story and On the Town. However he also wrote opera, chamber music and more.  One of his vocal pieces was entitled I Hate Music.  The lyrics:

I hate music, but I like to sing
lalalalalalalalala
but that’s not music
not what I call music, no sir
Music is a lot of men and a lot of tails
making a lot of noise like a lot of females
Music is a lot of folks in a big dark hall
Where they really don’t want to be at all
With a lot of chairs and a lot of heirs
And a lot of furs and diamonds
music is silly
I hate music, but I like to sing.

I feel the same way about fasting.  I hate fasting, but I love coming closer to God.  I hate fasting, but I desperately need to die to the flesh.  I hate fasting, but I love bowing down in deep intercession.

I hate fasting, but sometimes the Father calls me to it so I can clear my head and my body and really pay attention to what needs to be going on.  I hate fasting but I also recognize that sometimes the need for discipline is so great that there aren’t a whole lot of other options open to me.  So fasting it is.

I’d like to say “I’m fasting and praying for THIS” and then name something big and awesome and invite you all to join me, but the truth is that would be a lie.  My natural revulsion to fasting is such that I am completely incapable of doing it for more than two or three hours unless I have a real burden from the spirit to do so.  So I’m what I’m going to do instead is to suggest that you listen.  Wait and listen for the day that the Spirit suddenly gives you an urge to fast.  Then go for it and use it as a time for nothing more than coming closer to the Father’s heart.  Because at the end of the day, we do not fast so that God will move and do things for us, but so that we can come closer to him by dying to the self, and thereby see Him.

“I hate fasting, but I love and I miss Jesus.”

