This may seem like a dumb question to those of you whose faith is more developed than mine.  The answers that I’ve heard before usually revolve around Matthew 28:19-20 in which Jesus gives us the infamous “great commission.”

Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe everything I have commanded you. And remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

In other words people say that we are to spread the news of Christ, and disciple others because Jesus told us to.  Normally that is enough for me but let me be honest: I don’t like evangelism.  I don’t think I’ve found a style of evangelism or a way to share my faith evangelistically that I can handle.

But at the same time, can I look at someone, knowing that he or she is a beloved child of God, no less loved than I, and then deny them the opportunity to enter the presence of our Savior?  Obedience is good enough for most people, but love for Jesus, and love for his kids is the real motivator here.

I talk about it at greater length in my blog post on Love Rampant.  But as with so many things I say, the bible has a knack of doing it better than me.

Which of you men, having 100 sheep and loses one of them, does not leave the 99 to go find that one?…What woman who has 10 silver coins, if she loses one of them, does not light a lamp and sweep the house and search carefully until she finds it?

And then, when that which was lost is found again?

There will be [joy] in heaven over one sinner who repents…there is joy in the presence of God’s angels over one sinner who repents.

The question then becomes not “why evangelize” but “how?”

As much as I would love to be able to stand on a street corner and start preaching the gospel, I’m just not that kind of guy.  So what I’m going to spend some time over the next few weeks doing and asking some friends of mine to help me with, is to talk about it.  What does it mean to “preach the gospel at all times and when necessary use words”?

