My pastor is often fond of saying “worship on THIS side of the Jordan.”  In case you were wondering he’s talking about it’s a reference to Joshua 3.

 Now the Jordan overflows its banks throughout the harvest season. But as soon as the priests carrying the ark reached the Jordan, their feet touched the water at its edge and the water flowing downstream stood still, rising up

But imagine what it must have been like for the Israelites to look at that mighty river overflowing it’s banks with the promise land on just the other side.  This generation didn’t see the Red Sea part and they probably weren’t thinking much about signs and wonders at that moment.  It isn’t too hard to read a little bit of despair in the hearts of people who were literally “this close” to the promise of blessing only to have it cut off by an impassible river.

But the LORD made a way for them.  And they were able to celebrate on the other side of the river. We know it happened because Scripture tells us so.  We know it’s happened time and time and time again.

  • “For that which you intended for Evil God has used to Good”
  • “Greater is the one who is in you than the one who is in the world”
  • “to Him who able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think according to the power that woks in us”
  • “I will lead the blind in a way they do not know…I will turn darkness to light in front of them and rough places to level ground.  I will do this for them and not forsake them.”

So if I know these things are true; if I know that God is faithful and He’ll get me to the other side of the river; if I know that this is just another rough place, another mountain for the Father to level; if I know that this obstacle will also be removed from my path, then why in the world wouldn’t I celebrate now?

I may be on the wrong side of the Jordan today, but that doesn’t mean God isn’t building me a bridge, or bringing me a miracle to get me to the other side.  I KNOW that this is true.  This goes beyond faith… or maybe this is the essence of faith but I know that I’m going to get to the other side.  So I’m going to celebrate where I am, wherever I am, knowing that it only gets better from here.  And when I’m in greener pastures, I’m going to celebrate then too.

