My last post here just over a week ago was talking about stopping with the navel gazing and just start doing.  Well I very quickly realized that I haven’t been doing all that much introspection compared to the amount of activity in my life and no sooner had I made that realization than the physical repercussions of massive amounts of activity came crushing in on me.  Which is to say, I slept. I went to bed that night, woke up for breakfast and went back to sleep.  I woke up sometime around 2PM on a Sunday afternoon with just enough time to catch Dr. Who and that’s when it hit me.

I haven’t done anything that I enjoyed just for myself in a long time.  Being the kind of person that I am, I don’t actually feel rested when I sleep, my body just recovers, but mentally and emotionally I have to be able to devote some time to recharging that aspect of myself.  So I rediscovered all the books I used to read.

I’m talking about David Eddings, JRR Tolkien, Anne Bishop, and of course Ann Rice.  For a while there I had been ignoring reading a lot of the kinds of books that I love to read in favor of the “deep spiritual” kind of theological stuff like Mere Christianity, or authors like Jurgen Moltmann (can’t tell you how far I DIDN’T get on that one).

And it was a really simple fact that came to my attention in the midst of all of this: it isn’t worth doing something for the Kingdom if I’m not passionate about it.

Don’t get me wrong, I love learning about the Kingdom, and Jesus and I love knowledge and wisdom.  I love serving, and teaching, and mentoring.  I love doing the kinds of things I’ve been doing, but I’m really passionate about reading and writing.  For a while this blog was filling in a large part of that for me, but not fully.  So here’s what I’m going to do from now on.

Three times a week I’ll post here, but at least once a week I’m going to start posting at another blog I’ve started that is just dedicated to the kind of fiction I love so much.  It’s desiredreality.wordpress.com (a title I stole from my lovely wife).  It isn’t going to be deep Godly stuff, and it’s probably going to be a lot fluff and generally just aweful prose while I get that rhythm of writing fiction back, but it’s a key aspect to my sense of self and rest that will allow me to be more fully grounded in my outflow.

This is an invitation to join me in discovering the playful things that you just love to do for no reason besides the enjoyment you get out of it.  Mine is writing fiction, what’s yours?

