Today, my wife graduates from three years of advanced study with a Masters of Theological Studies.  Being the overachiever that she is, she is graduating with honors.  Being the woman of God that she is, she’s decided to re-invent the wheel and start her own ministry rather than do something easy like jump on someone else’s bandwagon and minister with them.

And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

That may sound a little crazy to you and it may sound like nothing more than an overly proud man who is so madly in love with his wife that he would never ask her to do anything other than exactly what she wants and you would probably be right.  I’m pretty darn crazy and I’m so madly in love with my wife that I enjoy doing everything with her.  Heck we even share an office together where we have our day jobs.

But let me tell you that today I am more grateful to her than I am proud of her.  Because whether or not my wife knows it and whether or not she’ll ever admit it, she is WAAAAAY smarter than me and she has lived out Deuteronomy 6:1-9 without ever quoting or making a choice to live it out.  I have learned more about biblical hermeneutics, eschatology, and Christology from her taking these classes and getting her education than I probably ever would have learned on my own.  Now I’m not saying anything against any of the teachers or mentors in my life, I’m not saying anything against my pastor who is an excellent teacher… so long as he stays on topic (;-P)

The point of all this is to understand why we are to teach our children this way.

Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

I can’t tell you how much of what we talked about just in the course of everyday life has remained with me. I can sit in on a lecture and learn pretty quickly too, but just sitting around the dinner table or driving into work and having conversation about Jesus and what life in the Spirit really means has really left a mark on me.  Anyone who knew me three years ago can tell you that I’m a pretty different person now than I was then, and I think it is in no small part thanks to my wife just talking about the things she has been studying in class.  All glory to God that she was in class in the first place and that she was ok talking to me about it all and I thank Him for it, but she also had a choice to NOT share with me.

What difference would that have made in my life?  What difference can you make in someone else’s life, just by saying “i heard this amazing thing about Jesus the other day…”

