There are a lot of things in my life that I now have that I never would have expected to have.

I never expected to get married.  Until the day I met my wife, I couldn’t imagine finding a woman I could love as deeply as my father loved my mother therefore I “knew” I wouldn’t get married.

I never expected to have children.  Thankfully.  At least I had some concept of morality in my pre-Jesus days but same thing – I couldn’t imagine finding someone I could spend the rest of my life with let alone someone I would be willing to raise children with.

I never expected to have a friendship last more than three years.

I never expected to have meaningful relationships of any kind outside of my family.

As far as I knew there was nothing to give me any direction in my life besides some vague desire to do something that would leave a lasting impression on this world.  I wanted to make a difference and make other people’s lives better and richer for me having been in it and so of course I did what any self respecting reject from the military would do: study art.

It didn’t occur to me to do anything else besides that, after all the first time I heard the Gospel was in the context of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Jesus Christ Superstar and as far as I was concerned that Jesus guy had a pretty good voice on him but Judas had all the good lines!  Why would I want to follow Jesus?

Shortly after I met the woman who is now my wife, we were at Creation Festival.  I didn’t believe in Jesus, I wasn’t a Christian yet, I was there because I knew Jesus was important to her and I needed to find out if I could handle Him as part of our relationship. Now I was sitting on the group’s tarp in front of the main stage just kind of zoning out and stewing in my own thoughts when everything around me went black.  Somehow I managed not to freak out, and slowly the scene around me changed.  It was as if my eyes had been stuck on the ground and now I was looking up and I saw the sun rising in the distance painting the sky vibrant purple and orange.  But this giant wooden pole was right in front of me and spoiled the picture.  I kept on looking up and saw a pair of feet attached to the pole and was unable to raise my head any further.  I felt something wet fall on my head and when I lifted my hand to see what it was, my hand came away with blood on it.

I snapped back to this world as quickly as I had left it and heard the preacher on stage say “God has brought you here for a reason.  He has called you to be here for a reason.  And it’s going to ruin your life.”

I thought about all the things I wasn’t expecting in my life and was perfectly ready to get them ruined.

