A friend of mine who is atheist and whom I dearly love once said to me “I envy you your faith.”

That struck me as an odd thing to hear from an atheist in general but this person in particular so I asked her “What do you mean?”  (on a side note, it usually isn’t that easy for me to hide my snide sarcasm and include something like “how do you envy something you think is ridiculous, but she’s a dear friend so it was easier.)

So I asked her what she meant and she replied “When you know you don’t have it together, you can trust in God.  I wish I could do that.”

I wish I hadn’t been a moron back then because I just sat there with my mouth open thinking “I should say something.  This is a great moment.  I don’t know what to say!” I ended up just lamely deflecting the compliment and missing the moment.  If I could do it over, or if a similar situation ever comes up again, I’ve thought of what to say in that moment.

“When you know you don’t have it together, you can trust in God.  I wish I could do that.”

“You know you can right?  Christianity isn’t about some fuzzy kind of feeling you get on Sunday mornings or when you kneel in prayer it’s about choices.  We choose to believe in God, we choose to believe that Jesus is the Son of God, and we choose to believe that He’s going to take care of us.  And I don’t know, maybe there is something that’s really making it hard for you to make that choice, but it’s a choice to make all the same.  It’s like skydiving or base jumping: you’re standing on the edge and you know it’s going to be an awesome experience but you have to fight your fear of falling, your fear of heights, your fear of death, and the fear that people rigging you out don’t know what they’re doing.  We aren’t arguing about whether or not God exists, we’re arguing about whether or not you trust Him enough to believe Him.”

So that’s the question.  Are you able to CHOOSE to believe Him?

 

