No that is not the time.  This is actually probably one of my more favorite bible verses.  Some bible verses I write out, laminate and carve into my desk so that I can read them and see them again and again.  These are ones of which I need reminding like Jeramiah 33:3 or Acts 17:27.  Romans 8:28 and John 14:1 are there also (because there are days when I REALLY need those verses written out in front of me) but Ephesians 3:20-21 is not one of them.  In the New King James it reads

“Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we can ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be the glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever.”

And to be perfectly honest I had to look up the last part in verse 21 there because what really stands out to me in this passage is the declaration and testimony of the Father.  “who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we can ask or think.”

I heard one preacher describe this as the ultimate blank check: the Father is empowered above and beyond in degrees greater than we can possibly imagine or pray for, and His power is in us by Christ Jesus.

Now that’s great too, but I don’t really care if the Father gives me power.  I don’t care if the presence of the Holy Spirit never falls on me in the kind of revival passion and fire that some saw during the 90s.  I don’t need faith that can move mountains, and I don’t need to prophesy or speak in the tongues of men and angels.  That would be NICE, don’t get me wrong, I think that would be all kinds of really awesome if God showed up like that.

I don’t understand this verse as a blank check verse or as a power verse.  This is a character of God verse.  This another El Shaddai moment or a “who is Jesus?” moment. And this time the answer is not in the form of a name or even in characteristics that we easily understand.  This time the name of God that we receive is “The God who is more.”

More than we can hope for.

More than we can pray for.

More than we can imagine.

More, believe it or not, than we can realistic believe in.

Our God is not just greater.  Our God is infinitely MORE.

 

