Before digging too deep here, please be sure to read Kingdom Conflict 1 and Kingdom Conflict 2 that lay out the groundwork for how I at least, understand spiritual conflict.

I ended the last conversation by saying that the Attention Seeking Baby (aka Satan) can mess with us and we are in the great position of being able to stand, fight, and win.

“Resist in the evil day, and having prepared everything, to take your stand.”

“We know that everyone who has been born of God does not sin, but the One who is born of God keeps him, and the evil one does not touch him.”

There are any number of things we can do to counter attacks of the enemy but for now I want to talk about the single most powerful and effective weapon we have: worship.

You see the whole reality of Kingdom Conflict stems from Satan’s original uprising against God in which he contested God’s right to receive worship.  We say that it’s a contest for our souls or for the world but those things are actually side effects of Satan’s true aim and desire: he wants our worship.  Now, like I said if he gets our worship he gets our souls too, but the temptation in the wilderness hinged on the words “if you will bow down and worship me.”  What this means for us is that we can at any time overcome the enemy, we can pound him into the dirt, crush his head, bury him and dance on the grave because it is ALWAYS in our power to deny him what he wants and deliver it instead to God: and that’s worship.

Worship is not restricted to music. Don’t believe me?  Check out how David uses worship to take out Goliath in 1 Samuel 17: 25-46

So next time you’re under attack, don’t hide and don’t shut down: step up.  Walk to center stage, take the mic and you start worshiping as loud and as hard as you can.  Give thanks to God for what he’s done or going to do.  I mean whatever it is that God has blessed you to be good at, do it with an active mind to glorify him and give him that as worship.

I write a blog as worship.  I sing songs as worship.  I smile at people I can’t stand to talk to as worship.

Just so long as the activity points back to our Lord and His glory it is worship.  Otherwise…  well there are two sides in this fight I’m sure you can figure out where you’re pointing if you aren’t pointing to God.

 

