I’ve talked about the Song of the Servant in Isaiah 42 before and I tend to camp out on it personally when I feel like I need some direction in my own life or when I’m sitting around feeling sorry for myself.  Jesus uses a different Song of the Servant in Luke 4 to describe his ministry and purpose of the time.  Now while I’ve thought a lot about what it means to be a servant of the Lord, there are a couple of verses I never thought of in this context.

“You must be like people waiting for their master to return…so that they may open the door for him when he arrives.”

“At the time of the banquet, he sent his slave to tell those who were invited ‘Come!’”

“At harvest time he sent a slave to the farmers so that they might give him some fruit from the vineyard.”

“For it is just like a man going on a journey. He called his own slaves and turned over his possessions to them.”

Now these are all the opening lines to parables about masters and servants that we don’t always pay attention to… Ok I don’t pay attention to them because I’m more interested in the rest of the story.  I want to know what it that the servants did, and the others responded and what does that tell me about how to be a good servant of the LORD?

But these verses jump out to me for a very simple reason.  Almost painfully simple reason.  And it isn’t that the servant’s serve, it’s that they OBEY.

Ok, you can read HERE and HERE about my issues with my rebellious spirit, and if you go through and read my other entries I’ll bet that you’ll see traces of it all throughout this entire blog.  So this is a big deal.  I WANT to be a servant of the Lord.  I want to be one of His anointed ones and worship Him and serve Him and His people.  But the key to serving God isn’t in service.  I like to say the key to writing is to write, but that’s not the case with this one because really the key here is about obedience.  Most of the parables that Jesus uses involve servants and slaves obeying (or disobeying) their masters.

But even then, the problem isn’t obedience.  At least not for me it’s not.  The problem I have with obedience isn’t that I don’t like the task set for me, it’s that I have a perception of the weight of obedience.  I see obedience as something to bear, a burden to carry.  And I’m coming out right now, against myself and speaking out against it.  Because obeying the LORD is not a burden.  His yoke is light and easy and I don’t have to work and struggle under the weight of it.  The things to which I must be obedient, the very will of the LORD is already written on my heart, and the more I allow myself to be guided by that, and the more I allow myself to submit to it and study His word, the easier and lighter the burden of obedience becomes.

That’s the nature of Christ’s yoke.  We pick our cross and follow after Him only to replace it for something infinitely lighter.  And who wouldn’t trade something you want to give away for something you could never hope to buy?

 

