Ok I suppose I should say “I” have a relationship problem, because I shouldn’t point a finger out or say “we” when it might be construed as “you” and it’s always more powerful to speak from a first person perspective but I want to make sure I have your attention.  So, let’s be honest.  I DO have a relationship problem and chances are that you do as well.

For myself, my problem really comes from this post from last week.  For reasons I still can’t really understand, I am fixed on performance based Christianity.  I assume my relationship to the Father is dependent on how many hours of service I perform, how much time I spend in prayer, or how many ministries I’ve managed to start/impact/grow.  To some degree there is actually a biblical basis for this insane misguided understanding of my relationship to the Father.  In the Old Testament Israel is condemned for ignoring the cries of the broken but still bringing offerings to the temple.  In James 2:14 it says “What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works?  Can his faith save him?”

Now I don’t want to get into an argument of Works versus Grace (as interesting as that may be) because the fact is that works has a role to play in the development and maturation of our faith.  But it isn’t all about works.

Why?

Because works is about us.  At the end of the day, my works are really about me.  A works based faith system is a system that is based on the individual and not on the Father.  A works based faith system is one that relies on the law to tell us which works are good and which are bad.

Essentially, there is no room for Grace, there’s no room for mistakes and learning in a works based system.  There’s no room for relationship in a works based system because we’d all be too busy trying to fill our daily quota or works.  We’d be too busy trying to make sure we stay on the right side of the law.

So my name is Seiji, and I have a relationship problem.  I think it’s all about me and what I have to offer.  I forget that it takes two to have a relationship (or four in this case if you count Jesus and the Holy Spirit) and I refuse to accept that which is offered me.

 

