This might sound a little weird, but last night I had a dream in which I was arguing with my coach about why I couldn’t play in the game.  I know right?  Who argues with a coach about playing in a game?  I mean that’s the coach. You’re supposed to listen to coach and trust coach and every player knows that Coach is usually looking at a larger and much different picture than the player.  And of course let’s not forget the weirdness of me dreaming about sports.  I haven’t really played sports outside of Wii golf for about nine years now. (I have a love hate relationship with my sedentary lifestyle.)

This dream was in fact so weird I started asking myself “what’s going on?”  Now I’m a big proponent of dream interpretation for God (See Joseph with the coat, Daniel, and Joseph Carpenter) so it was a perfectly logical question to ask.

What is God telling me if He sends me a dream that I’m arguing with my coach about why I can’t play in the game when I’m clearly good enough, well qualified enough, ready, available and eager to play?

  1. It could mean that I’m not ready.  Let’s face it, if I was thinking about planting a church (which I’m not that’s just an example in case you were wondering) I’d probably want to go to seminary first or at least get some kind of education in theological studies.
  2. The timing isn’t right.  Well you don’t try and kick a field goal on the first play after kickoff.  Just doesn’t work that way.
  3. I’m trying out for the wrong role.  I do this a lot and often.  Any opportunity comes up and I tend to jump at it and give it a shot.  I might be ok or even good at what it is, but that doesn’t mean I’m not being held back for something better.
  4. It isn’t safe.  You don’t tell a player suffering from a lingering concussion to jump into the game the day after he’s been hit.  That’s a great way to get hurt.

Whatever the reason, I also need to remember that this isn’t the only game of the season.  I’ll get my chance, I’ll get my shot, but there’s more than one game to be played.  And God’s telling me that I can argue all I want, things are going to move and happen and his pace not mine.

