Someone very important to me recently informed me of his/her intention to start going to church.  Only it was in a very simple and matter of fact kind of way that didn’t even mention being born again or finding Jesus or any of those “I’m a fool for Christ” kind of things you might hear.  This person said,

“I really should know what songs we’re singing on Sunday [since I’m part of the choir] but I’ll go anyways.”

Now I’ve never testified to this person, I’ve never talked about how my life has changed since I’ve been saved, in fact the closest I’ve come to doing either is telling this person about some of the activities I participate in with my church.  I’ve also spent no small amount of time in prayer for this person but never told him/her “I’m praying for you.”

I in no way mean to diminish or downplay the value of traditional evangelistic methods.  I know at least one person who was saved because he got a tract on a street, I know a woman who saved hearing someone else’s testimony, and there of course there is power and servant evangelism that have made their respective marks.  But I also want to give a little shout out to Shine Evangelism.  Don’t know if that’s what it’s called but that’s what I’m calling it.

“You are sunlight, moonlight, and starlight: you are the signal beacons of God in this world.  Think of it this way: you can’t hide a fortress on high ground.  You don’t build a lighthouse as low as possible or underwater but you DO make sure it shines as far as possible.” Matthew 5:14-15 DEV

St. Francis of Assisi put it this way.  “Preach the Gospel at all times, and when necessary use words.”

This is a real challenge for me some days because the world offers an easier way than Christ does.  It’s easier to laugh and joke around with friends over something not at all Christ-like than it is to put an end to it or walk away.  It’s easier to yell at that guy in traffic rather than be compassionate and let it slide.  But the word is pretty clear on this point.

“Stand tall and shine, just like that lighthouse.  The light of the LORD is in you and you can show it to the world with the way you live your life, you can glorify the Father with the way you walk and talk and breath and live.  So Shine.” Matthew 5:16 DEV

 

 

