So people talk about how insensible religion and faith are.  They say things like “Can’t prove or disprove God’s existence therefore, according to Occam’s Razor God doesn’t exist.”  “Faith is for the ignorant and blind.”  “Religion is the opiate of the masses.”  “It isn’t possible for one person to make up for the iniquities of all.”

Today I found out that I am included on a public list on Twitter called “deluded: a list of idiots (pronounced believers) who spout deluded or ignorant crap.”  I’ve been called a lot of things, but I think this is the first time I’ve been labeled deluded and ignorant.

A lot of responses jumped to mind.  A LOT.  I don’t like being called stupid, ignorant, or deluded and God is working with me on that one, but it’s still a work in progress and it took a lot for me to NOT jump at the opportunity for confrontation. (and I suppose you could say I’m getting in a kind of sucker punch here but I have a real point I’m trying to make!)

I ask myself, am I deluded?  Am I an idiot- just another pronounced believer spouting deluded and ignorant crap?

Then I remember a story.

John Wimber, founder of the Vineyard Association of Churches, generally controversial character, and desperately in love with God has one of the best testimony’s I’ve ever heard.  Because he doesn’t stop his story with “and I never touched drugs again.”  I’m sure he says that somewhere, but his testimony doesn’t stop there.  He goes on to talk about the things that he’s DONE as a Christian, as a new believer.  And he tells the story of how one day he was at a bible study and people were falling on the floor crying and confessing and he’s sitting there thinking “oh no.  No, no, no, I’m not going to do it!  NO public display of emotions from me thank you!  No, I will not make a fool of myself.”

And then he recalls a man he saw on the side of street with a sandwich board sign that read.  “I’m a fool for Christ.  Who’s fool are you?”

Johnny fell to his knees and began pouring his heart, and his tears, out before God and everyone else who was around.

I’m a fool for Christ.  Who’s fool are you?

 

