You know what.  I would have done the same.

I don’t care what anyone else might say about keeping your ears open and I don’t care about what Barbara Walters said about “discussions without washing our hands and screaming and walking offstage,” if I had listened to anyone make such an ignorant blanket statement about a culture and a people based on the actions of a few individuals I would have done the exact same thing.

Now I’ll be the first to admit that I’m prejudiced against Mr. O’Reily.  I think that he says and does a lot of things for no reason other than to garner attention which is why I generally ignore him whenever he opens his mouth or his name appears in print.  But the fact is that if we condone and give ear to these kinds of messages then we are condoning other messages that I have dedicated to fight against.

“All Christians are hypocritical”

“Christians are irrelevant.”

“Christians are ignorant bigots.”

The list goes on and it hurts.  I mean just check out ex Christian dot com (sorry can’t bring myself to link it) and if you have a heart for intercession you will be ruined for months over this website.  Because the simple truth is that a few bad people can, in a few moments, destroy the good work of countless people over years.  We see that in Islam and we see it in Christianity.

Now if it was me, and I was one on one with someone who said something like this, I would correct them.  That’s what you do: Matt 18:15 “If your brother sins against you , go with him and show him his fault just between the two of you” (NIV)  I suppose the sin wouldn’t be against me, but you can’t lay that kind of judgment and blame out there and NOT call it a sin.

But with Bill?

Well as much as I DON’T want to do it, I know very clearly what I NEED to do.

Mat 5:44 “But I tell you: Love your enemies and bless those that persecute you.”

Is O’Reily persecuting me personally?  No.  But I know people who adhere to the Islamic faith and I consider them as much family as my own flesh and blood.  So here it goes.  Bill, I’m praying for you man.

