SHIELD by meowsap

Ever hear a Christian say “I don’t think I have enough faith”?  This always strikes me as an absurd excuse or statement.  Don’t get me wrong, I always feel for the person saying it, but at the same time I have to really work to not laugh in his/her face and the only thing stopping me is remembering that I was there once too.  And here’s the one liner that got me out of it.

 

“I’m sorry, but you close your eyes and pour your heart out to a being you have no solid proof of even existing with genuine expectation that you’ll hear something back and you don’t think you have enough faith?”

Christians in general I find talk about degrees of faith like they talk about lifting weights.  I suppose that’s a legitimate metaphor since Paul is always talking about beefing up for the big fight and winning the marathon, but to be honest I think we need to think of it in terms of Ephesians 6 where faith is referred to a shield.  And since Jesus is the author and perfecter of our faith, we don’t really need to worry about a poorly crafted piece of equipment here.

Because the way I see it, you either have faith or you don’t.  You may not know what to do with it, you may not know how to hold it or what it feels like, but I have to say that faith is a far simpler thing that we often allow it to be.  We talk about how anxiety can weaken our faith or how trials can test our faith but I think we need to simplify this one.

Anyone who believes I beg and encourage you to cling your faith.  And if you do, well that’s faith enough.

