Anyone who has ever watched a war movie has heard the expression “standing orders.”  What does this mean?  It means that it doesn’t matter what the circumstances are there are some things you always look for.  It might that no matter what the first goal is take prisoners of war, or it could be that the first course of action will be to asses the needs of civilian populations.  As Christians our orders are pretty simple “Love the LORD with all your heart…and love your neighbor as yourself.”  “Heal the sick, cleanse lepers, cast out demons and spread the news of the Kingdom of God.”  “Go and make disciples of all the nations.”  Now my buddies over at Daily Discipleship, Pursuing a Life of Significance, and Campfire Cowboy Ministries do a great job with these I really encourage you to take a look over there if you feel like these are places you want to grow (I probably get half my ideas and materials from them anyways – thanks guys!)

But there’s one other set of orders we don’t usually think about in Ephesians 6:13.  “Withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.”

What?  You might ask.  “What’s he one?  Dude, why aren’t you sharing?”  Well I’m on Jesus and THIS is sharing. :-p

I’ve had a rough couple of days… make that a rough week or so and it’s really made me think about this verse.  Is this THE day of evil?  I don’t know, but I do know that there is evil in this day and there will be evil tomorrow and the day after just as there was evil yesterday and the day before.   But the thing is that victory in life is not up to me.  It is not my actions or lack of action that will determine how I stand or fall at the end of the day.  Why?

1 Samuel 14:47, you’ve heard it before.  “Then all this assembly shall know that the LORD does not save with sword and spear; for the battle belongs to the LORD and today he will deliver you into my hands.”

The battle on this day of evil belongs to the LORD, and as the battle belongs to Him so does the victory.  We don’t have to command the army or marshal our forces, we don’t have to bear the standard on the field to advance our positions or beat a drum for all the soldiers to hear.  We just need to show up and follow orders.  And at the end of the day, no matter what else happens, no matter our own personal success or failure, our flag will still stand.

