Confession: I live in a world of works.  No matter what else I may say or do, I can look at my actions of the past…well go back to the first post in this blog and from then until now, I can say that I have been living a works based faith.

Now if anyone I knew ever came up to me with this confession, or if I saw him/her living life this way, I’d probably sit down with him/her go through the scriptures, do some inner healing stuff, get a prayer support group together, find others who might be in similar situations and really work on getting the concept of salvation by grace through faith past their head knowledge and into their spirit.  But because it’s been me dealing with it, I’ve done the typical man thing: beat myself up until my spirit relented, thinking that just because it was quiet it was in line.

Survey says: X

Since that turned out to be such a complete waste of time, and the Father has decided to really stir my spirit up about the whole thing, I’m going to spend a lot of time over the next few weeks, reminding myself of the important stuff.  Not the simple reminders kind of stuff, although those are always good to go back to, but the really important and basic things that make Christians the people we are.  What are they?

  • Love
  • Mercy
  • Grace
  • Faith
  • Compassion
  • Intimacy

To start I’m going to offer a bible verse that I’m going to spend the rest of the day speaking over myself, and I encourage all of you to take a moment and do the same.  And it might seem trite or cliche, but every cliche was once a great one liner.

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.

