What?  Huh?  If you respond with those two questions, then you were not at my church leadership meeting last night :-p

Here’s the thing: I’ve talked about Worship and Finding your Voice before but they really belong together, and I want to take a quick moment right now and talk about both of them.  And just to avoid any confusion let’s start off with two rapid fire definitions.

Worship: The act of bowing one’s heart down in intimate love and glorification of God the Father, Jesus the Son, and the Holy Spirit.  (No ambiguity here)

Voice: The style, medium, and content of communication.

My voice for example constitutes a conversational style in the written word very often manifesting in a traditional blog post, spoken word poetry, or verbose prose.  You can ask my wife, but I really do talk the way I write.  My point however, is that I use my voice to worship God.

John Wimber, founder of the Vineyard Association of Churches, was one of the first to use contemporary music in worship.  He associated worshiping with traditional hymns and organ music to worshipping in Japanese: why on earth would he do that when he could more effectively, honestly, and openly worship in the way he knew best?  Rock and roll, the music that he knew and grew up with, was the most natural language he could use to worship.

The first link above takes you to a post where I suggest that you play to your strengths in worship.  This is the same as using your own voice, and it is not limited to music.

Let me repeat that in case you missed it.

WORSHIP IS NOT LIMITED TO MUSIC.

I am not a musician so it makes as much sense for me to focus my worship in music as it does for John Wayne to put on a tutu and prance around for the Dance of the Sugar Plumb Fairies.  (Kevin, feel free to be outraged)

Now you might be thinking to yourself that you don’t have any creativity, that you don’t have a worship voice because you’re an accountant, or you do programming code, and I’m telling you that none of that necessarily has ANYTHING to do with your voice.

Worship is about passion not profession, and your voice in worship is simply a question of the most natural way for you to express passionate love and devotion to our LORD.

