Here are three questions for you.

  1. When was the last time you did something just for yourself and God?
  2. When was the last time you did something for its own sake?
  3. When was the last time you ran a marathon and felt like you could go another 32 miles?

“Gee Sage, what do you mean?” You ask me.

Well I’m glad you asked because I think this is an important question.  I was sitting here at my desk doing my everyday tasks when I decided to stop for a moment and revisit an old post of mine called 7th Day Slumber.  One reason I did it was that I have been convicted that I have been stressed (but I’ll never admit it of course) In that post I talk about tools and benefits of rest.  It was actually a neat idea I think, but I’m ADD right?  So even as I wrote that post the unasked question in the back of my mind is “but what does rest look like?”

Answer:

  • Rest is when I do something just for me and God. Now doing something just for me and God is not always restricted to quiet prayer and solemn meditation but as with any relationship can be any activity.  My wife and I have a date night every week where we do pretty much anything we want so long as we do it together.  We go to the movies and get dinner, or we just walk around the neighborhood talking.  Same thing with God – just hanging out and inviting God to be a part of a task allows us to enter his rest.
  • Rest is when I do something just for its own sake. I’m a task oriented person which means that everything I do is with purpose and often for more than just one reason.  I write this blog because I love to write, I want to take time to meditate on God and life, and I want to share it with the world.  But I can’t tell you the last time I wrote just because I felt like writing and for no other reason.
  • Rest is when you finish an activity and feel like you could just keep on going.  I use the marathon example above because I figured it would catch your attention.  The point is that rest, like sleeping, should leave you refreshed.  You should feel charged and ready for anything after genuine Godly rest.

Anything I missed?  What are some other signs of Godly rest?  What does rest look like for you?

