It may not be the best thing about Christianity but it certainly ranks up in my personal top ten favorite things, and that is that we are set up for success.

Now I’m sure we’ve all heard the expression “set up to fail” which usually means that someone asked us to do something and then aligned every possible circumstance so that we would fall flat on our face.  I sometimes think of this as when a supervisor walks over to me and says “I was watching and saw where you made your mistake,” about an hour after I’ve made the mistake and moved on to the next thing.

But Jesus isn’t like that; the Holy Spirit isn’t like that; and God is most certainly and definitely not like that.

This is the Father who knit me in my mother’s womb, who sees me every moment and whose thoughts of me outnumber the grains of sand on the beaches of the world.  The same Father who sent his only begotten Son to die for me.  For me PERSONALLY.

Jesus is the Son who came to this world not just to die for me, but to fulfill the law and grant me entry to everlasting life; the Son who told me and showed me his love for me; the Son who gave me purpose in loving the world in the same way that he loved me and sent me the Holy Spirit to help me.

This Holy Spirit, the paraclete, the counselor, advisor, trainer, and empowerer (well it’s a word now) who abides in me is the same Spirit that hovered over the waters in the moment of Creation, the Spirit that empowered the Apostles on the day of Pentecost and can bring forth Signs and Wonders.

So what you worried about?  Worried about the world?  Worried about what the next door neighbor thinks?  Worried about demons and warfare?

We are not looking at a fair fight in any of these instances.  Greater is the One in you than the one in the world right?  How can we even imagine that we might somehow fall and lose the day when we have been so thoroughly set up for victory?

Granted, victory may not always look the way we expect it to, but with God behind us, we can rest easy knowing that His order, His spirit, and His truth reign.

