Well God saw fit to bring my team and I to and from Pine Ridge Indian Reservation in South Dakota.  Almost 4,000 miles of driving after 12 days and I’m back in the DC area. It’s still too soon, too close to the actual trip for me to really be able to reflect on everything that happened, but here are the top ten things that God taught me on this trip.

  1. Books on tape are awesome.  Do not disrespect my books on tape.
  2. There is nothing wrong with bribing children under the age of 10 with candy, toys, playtime, “helper” status…
  3. God put people on earth to irritate you so that you could learn to have grace for them and thereby learn more about Grace….I have learned a great deal about grace.
  4. Few people remember how to listen – have grace for them, they don’t do it on purpose.
  5. Listen.
  6. Plans are good.  Always have a plan.
  7. Plan to throw out your plan.
  8. It doesn’t matter how cosmopolitan the world may consider you, God has a different perspective.
  9. Expectations are what you get when you work in your own power rather than God’s power and we all know how well that works.
  10. You cannot hope to address a problem until your breaking heart drags you to your knees.
