Not going to lie, I’ve been a little apprehensive about my mission trip to South Dakota in … sweet Jesus -15 DAYS! (excuse me while I twitch for a moment)

….

Ok.  So I’ve been a little apprehensive.  I’ve been praying and worshiping God and just going forward knowing that no matter what happens God will provide.

That’s one of those phrases I’ve always thought Christians use to make themselves feel better.  Now I believe that God will provide, but being the person I am I always wonder “to what degree will He provide?”  My wife and I could survive on pretty slim income.  It wouldn’t be pretty, we’ve already cut a whole lot of expenses down to the bare minimum, but we could live if God decided we were going to take a cut in pay.  So I tend to think of “God will provide” in the same way that Picard says “Humans have evolved.”

It’s true, but it’s used so often it easily turns into an empty platitude.

So when I log on to my FirstGiving page and see a donation there with three zeroes on it BEFORE the decimal point, I’m a little blown away.

Alright that’s a lie.  I’m a LOT blown away.  Then once I get my jaw up off the floor I manage to turn on some praise music, close the door to my office and just start praising.

I mean WHOOOO!!!!!

I’m generally a contained and calm kind of guy, so today, this kind of crazy worship I’m doing here – This is my version of dancing naked in front of the Ark.  (Thank you Jesus, for giving me a private office!)

So today is early thanksgiving.  If you’re reading this, I want you to list five things in the comments below that you are thankful for, and I’ll join with you in praising God for it.

Today I’m thankful for:

  • The generosity of others, and God’s provision through them
  • Past promises fulfilled
  • A new PHONE!! (I had trouble reading the numbers on my old one)
  • My exceedingly wonderful wife (still not sure how I convinced her to marry me)
  • The skills and talents which allow me to speak, write, and think.

Your turn!

