This one is as much for me as it is for anyone who might read this.  As it is I’m really good at hitting myself over the head when things go wrong as oppose to bringing myself up when I do something right.  But I was watching the world cup the other day and it made me stop and think.

Everyone is talking about the world cup and I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon here.  Not that I’m a big fan of bandwagons, but I think it provides a good illustration.  I mean, take the US – Algeria game that put the US in the round of sixteen.  The deciding score was in the final minutes of the game.  Not even the final minutes of the game but it was during stoppage time!

Just 1 goal.  The US spent the entire 90 odd minutes leading up to that pushing and pushing for that 1 goal and when they got it, man did they celebrate. Why don’t we celebrate our successes as Christians like that?  I mean just look at the way these players flip out when they score.

Biblical precedent: Exodus 14-15.  The Israelites are fleeing Pharaoh, and I mean they are FLEEING.  Ramses is chasing after them with half of his army, the chariots are decked out and ready for some action.  And just so you know, Chariots were the elite fighting force of the day: imagine an aircraft carrier division chasing Cuban refugees in rafts.  That’s what was going on, and when they are delivered, when the Israelites are safe on the other side, the first thing they do is bust out in song.

15:1 “Then Moses and Israelites sang this song to the LORD.”

Now I suppose once could make a point about praising the Lord with every success (and I do regularly) but that doesn’t mean we can’t rejoice in it!

Philippians 4:4 “Rejoice in the Lord always!”

So next time you get something done right, ANYTHING, don’t just sit there and say “ok so what next?”  Don’t just blow through it as if you were going to get it done anyways, and don’t ignore it.  Even if the celebration is only stopping for a moment to say, “It is very Good” (Gen 1:31).  Don’t let the victories and the high points slip you by because those are the details, those are part of the good times that matter.

Ever forgotten to celebrate something big or small?  How do you celebrate?

Awesome related article on Larry Westfall’s blog with a similar point: Are you defined by your successes or your failures?

