On the last day of the 31DBBB project we are asked to consider, plan and look ahead for the next steps for our blog.  Where are we going, what are we doing, what’s the plan?

Not going to lie; this made me cringe.  And not just any kind of cringe but nails on a chalk board when I’m standing waaay too close kind of cringe.  I hate planning, I’m the epitome of the type B personality.  The only reason I do any planning at all to help my wife stay sane, so ask me to plan out and I get overwhelmed.  Then I felt bad and kind of angry at myself for getting drowned by something so mundane.  It’s just a plan right?  What’s the big deal?

Besides the fact that I hate it?

So I decided to stop and check my priorities.  I wanted to get back in touch with the person I am and where I’m going.  So I developed a core ideology. This is under my About section in case you’re wondering.

Because here’s a simple truth: Jesus told us to plan.  In Luke 28-30 Jesus describes what it takes to be a disciple.

“Suppose one of you wants to build a tower. Will he not first sit down and estimate the cost to see if he has enough money to complete it? For if he lays the foundation and is not able to finish it, everyone who sees it will ridicule him, saying, ‘This fellow began to build and was not able to finish.’

Part of what it takes is a willingness to stop and figure out what you’re getting into.  Part of it is about planning, part of it is making sure we choose the path that doesn’t get us into the deepest pile of manure and pain on the face of the earth.

And the second truth: you can’t get anywhere if you don’t know where you’re starting, and this is especially important for Christians in passionate pursuit of the Kingdom because the best way for anyone to stop us is to keep us busy.

There are a lot of good causes out there, a lot of things that a good Christian can get burnt out on so it is not just important but it is VITAL for everyone to have a grasp on priorities and values and then use those to make sure that good causes don’t distract us from THE cause.

