You want to talk about a language problem, let’s talk about this phrase.  (Just kidding, I’m not getting back on that).  But seriously, this is a phrase that is usually used to talk about Justification by Faith.  People, by which I mean theologians and all of their aspirants, tend to use this phrase in conjunction with some kind of doctrine of salvation.  For my part I don’t care about salvation because salvation is simple.  Check it out here. No, when I say “sufficiency of Grace,” I mean that His Grace is sufficient for all things.

God’s Grace is enough.

More than enough.

In his 2nd letter to the church of Corinth Paul describes the difficulties he was having with about weakness and says in 12:8-9 “Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” “

It’s an odd sort of sentiment when you think about it and it’s the kind of thing that 3 different people can understand fourteen different ways.  But let me tell you what it means to me.

Today my wife (for whom I thank Jesus every day) said something very profound to me.  She said “If you only ever wrote little stories that give God great pleasure and were never seen by anyone else, that would a life well spent.  That would be good enough for Him.”

To which I said the dumbest thing ever.  “It wouldn’t be enough for me.”

I give my wife great credit for not beating me upside the head with everything at hand.  Instead she asked me another profound question, “What would be enough?”

If I had half a brain I would have stopped to think about the question but instead I said the first thing that came to mind.  I don’t remember the exact wording of what I said but it boiled down to “everything.”

Amazingly enough my wonderful wife didn’t laugh in my face.  She just gave me the look.  Now the look isn’t a bad thing, but I only get it in two instances.  1) It’s after 9pm or before 9am and I’m thinking about something like historical symbolism of apocalyptic literature and it’s relevance to modern eschatology; 2) I’ve said something profoundly stupid and she’s trying to figure out why I would say something like that.

And here’s the simple truth my wife reminded me of, and Paul confirmed: God’s grace is more than enough.  Not just for my sins, not just for salvation, but for anything and everything.  God’s grace is enough for my own expectations.  God’s grace is enough for me.

The trick now is for me to remember that tomorrow.

