Jeremiah 29:11 is probably one of the most quoted passages from the Hebrew Scriptures by Christians.  It says “For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

What most people tend to forget is the first 10 verses of that chapter which boil down to say “You’re in exile, get over it.  70 years from now I’ll bring you back.”

The Exact language is actually very poetic and reads “build houses, plant gardens and eat what they produce…Work for the good of the city to which I have exiled you; pray to the LORD on its behalf, since on its welfare yours depends.”

Now there are a half dozen different ways I can talk about this without trying too hard, but there’s one in particular I want to share with you all.  I’m sure you’ve noticed that I’m a day late with this and that’s because I was busy trying to follow the course God has set for me.  It’s not an easy course, it’s not one I’m particularly happy about, but the fact remains that God has sent me to where I am.

God has put me in the exact position I find myself and the only thing I can do, is a build a house.

Plant a garden.

Stay the course.

Because the time will come when we get to leave exile.  A time will come when the mountains will be made flat, cliffs turned to plateaus, and streams made in the desert so that we may return to the Promised Land.  A time will come when the plans, and hopes and dreams will be realized and when our Lord ordains that time as come…

“The Time is fulfilled,” a voice will say.  “The Kingdom of God is at hand.”

