The gifts are without repentance.

courtesy of http://www.sxc.hu

Now I’m not talking about anything mystical, magical, or uber spiritual.  I do believe in the active presence of the charisms from 1 cor 12 but I’m not talking about those right now.  I’m talking about the talents and blessings Jesus has already given any of us.

Believe it or not, it can be anything.

It could be music, art, writing, or some kind of craftsmanship like carpentry or welding, but it can also be athleticism.  Believe it or not, it can be anything.

It can be a talent with numbers or a head for science.  God knows I have neither of those last two and I admire those men and women who do.  Although to be fair I can’t really say I envy them.

The hitch comes when we discover that we love these things.  We love doing those things that we are good at, we get a thrill out of being good at something.  Your stomach might get tied in a knot sometimes or you might suddenly feel flush.  A slight butterfly in your stomach or a jump in your heart when you discover it all, just like that first kiss.

But we feel ashamed or embarrassed when we want more.  It’s an unfortunate side effect of the American Culture that is so focused on work and the validity of labor, that also insists that anything you love to do, anything that isn’t painful, can’t possibly be worthwhile.

But the Gifts of the Father are without repentance.  They are good gifts given to us that we might use them. And every time we use them, our Father smiles, glad to have worked with us through these gifts.  He’s proud of the work we’ve done even if it isn’t perfect, even if there are flaws.

I don’t know about you, but that means something to me.  The Father is proud of me, when I use the gifts He’s given me.

